jefferson memorial

NCHC Team Members

John C. (Jack) Lewin, Chairman of the Board

Dr. Jack Lewin is President and Chief Executive Officer of the Cardiovascular Research Foundation. Dr. Lewin previously served as CEO of the American College of Cardiology (ACC) from 2006 through April 2012. The 41,000 member ACC represents over 90% of U.S. cardiologists, 5,000 cardiovascular nurses and clinicians and over 5,000 international members. Prior to his stint at ACC, Lewin was CEO of the 35,000 member California Medical Association for eight years. Previously, he was Hawaii’s Director of Health from 1986-1994, overseeing 6,500 employees, 12 hospitals, and a billion-dollar budget. Before that, as a Commissioned Officer in the US Public Health Service, Dr. Lewin was the founder and first Director of the Navajo Nation Department of Health, serving the needs of America’s largest American Indian tribe. He currently serves as the voluntary Chairman of the Board for the National Coalition on Health Care. In 2011, he was named as one of Modern Healthcare’s 100 Most Influential People in Healthcare. Dr. Lewin received his BA in Biological Sciences from the University of California, Irvine, and his MD from the University of Southern California. Read more about the Board.

John Rother, President and CEO

Mr. John Rother is President and CEO of the National Coalition on Health Care, America’s oldest and most diverse group working to achieve comprehensive health system change. The Coalition’s membership of more than 80 participating organizations includes medical societies, businesses, unions, health care providers, faith-based associations, pension and health funds, insurers, and groups representing consumers, patients, women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.

Prior to joining the Coalition in 2011, Mr. Rother served as the longtime Executive Vice President for Policy, Strategy, and International Affairs at AARP. There he led the development of AARP’s policy positions and advocacy strategies. Under his leadership, AARP engaged in robust public policy research and analysis, public education, and advocacy on health and retirement issues at the federal, state and international levels. Mr. Rother wrote numerous articles and was a frequent speaker on health, retirement security, the federal budget and the boomer generation.

From 1981 to 1984, Mr. Rother was Staff Director and Chief Counsel for the U.S. Senate Special Committee on Aging under the direction of Chairman John Heinz (R-PA). From 1977 to 1981, he served as Special Counsel for Labor and Health to U.S. Senator Jacob Javits (R-NY).

Mr. Rother is a graduate of Oberlin College and the University of Pennsylvania Law School. He is a member of the DC Bar, the National Academy of Social Insurance and the Gerontological Society of America.

Mr. Rother serves on several boards, including the American Board of Internal Medicine Foundation, the National Quality Forum, the Alliance for Health Reform, the Pension Rights Center and Generations United. He also serves on the MacArthur Foundation’s Aging Society Network and the Institute of Medicine’s National Roundtable on Value and Science-Driven Health Care. He has consistently been named as one of the Most Powerful People in Healthcare.

In 2010 Mr. Rother received the Robert Ball Award for Outstanding Achievements in Social Insurance from the National Academy of Social Insurance for “lifetime advocacy to strengthen Social Security and Medicare.”

Mark A. Goldberg, Executive Vice President

Mark Goldberg is the executive vice president of the National Coalition on Health Care, the largest non-partisan alliance of organizations working together to improve the affordability, quality, and accessibility of health care and coverage.  He is also a senior fellow and past chairman of the Climate Institute, which he cofounded, and an affiliated scholar at the Urban Institute.  He is a former faculty member at the Yale School of Management, where he taught and conducted research on health care policy and business strategy.  He previously held policy, managerial, and research positions at the White House, the Brookings Institution, McKinsey & Company, Johns Hopkins University, the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, and the Office of Management and Budget.

Larry McNeely, Policy Director

L McNeely pic 1

Larry McNeely coordinates NCHC’s policy development and advocacy, working with President and CEO John Rother.  In that capacity, Mr. McNeely has served as a principal author for the NCHC Plan for Health and Fiscal Policy and Achieving Real Savings Through Better Care:  Policy Options for Improving Care and Slowing Cost Growth through Bipartisan Delivery System and Payment Reform. In 2013, with fellow authors NCHC Board Chair Jack Lewin, MD and G. Lawrence Atkins, President of the National Academy of Social Insurance, Mr. McNeely published “The Elusive Path to Sustainability” in the Journal of the American Medical Association.

Prior to joining NCHC in May 2011, Mr. McNeely served as Health Care Advocate with U.S. Public Interest Research Group (U.S. PIRG), where he led that organization’s federal health care reform program.  From 2001 to 2008, he was an Organizer for Service Employees International Union and its affiliated locals, working with hospital, nursing home and public sector workers grappling with the high cost of health care.

McNeely holds a Masters of Public Administration from West Virginia University and a Bachelors of Arts from St. John’s College, Annapolis, MD.

Pousga Yerbanga, Finance & Operations Manager

Pousga_picture-croppedPousga Yerbanga is the Finance and Operations Manager at the National Coalition on Health Care, and has been a part of the team since October, 2013. She holds a bachelor’s degree in Economics from the University of the District of Columbia and is currently working toward a Master’s degree in Accounting and Financial Management at the University of Maryland.


Nisha Bhat, Policy Associate

Nisha Bhat joined the National Coalition on Health Care in September 2015 as a policy associate. She holds a bachelor’s degree in Philosophy and Global Health from Princeton University.